Student paper competition and awards

Student paper competition

All student participants are invited to enter the Student Paper Competition . The paper, an application form and all the supporting documentation for the student contest must be submitted through the Conference website before the paper submission deadline.

You have to be registered at this website to submit your paper and fill in the form for entering the student competition. This form is accessible via "Student paper competition" item in the "Participant profile" in the right column of the webpage after log-in at the website.

During the submission procedure, the students will be asked to upload:

  1. CV of personal scientific activity
  2. An exact title of the paper submitted for review
  3. An endorsement letter signed by the student's supervisor/advisor stating that the paper is the result of student's work

The student must be the first author and the second author may be the student's supervisor/advisor. No more than two authors are allowed, unless the student has two advisors from different institutions or departments that must be explicitly stated in the endorsement letter. The student papers will be subject to the regular review process. The TPC will evaluate the applications and select the finalists. The invited finalists will have their registration fee waived. Only one paper per student will be considered. In case of multiple entries with different papers, the student will be excluded from the competition.

The finalists of the student paper competition will present their papers  at the regular technical sessions in accordance with the conference program. In addition, they will be required to present their papers again at a dedicated poster session. The members of the Steering Committee will interact with the students during the poster presentation and will elect the winner. The winner of the best student paper will be announced at the Congress closing ceremony. This award is being sponsored with 350 euro by Elsevier’ s journal  "Photonics and Nanostructures: Fundamentals and Applications" (PNFA), which has a dedicated new section on metamaterials.


1st prize sponsored by Photonics and Nanostructures - Fundamentals and Applications  - Elsevier (350 Euros)

Student: Francesco Monticone, University of Texas at Austin, USA

Title: On the Physical Bounds of Cloaking and Invisibility


2nd prize sponsored by Wiley (voucher of 300 Euro)

Student: Diana Strickland, Southwest Research Institute, USA

Title: Dynamic Polarizability Tensor for Cylindrical Rods and their Application to the Homogenization of Uniaxial Metamaterials


3rd prize sponsored by Imperial College Press (2 books)

Student: Filipa Prudêncio, Instituto Superior Técnico - Instituto de Telecomunicações, Portugal

Title: Generalized Image Method for Radiation Problems Involving the Minkowskian Isotropic Medium



Best paper award


1st prize sponsored by Wiley (voucher of 300 Euro)

Authors: Stanislav Maslovski, Constantin Simovski, Sergei Tretyakov

Title: Equivalent Circuit Approach for Radiative Heat Transfer Problems


2nd prize sponsored by Wiley (voucher of 150 Euro)

Authors: Francisco Rodríguez-Fortuño, Giuseppe Marino, Pavel Ginzburg, Daniel O'Connor, Alejandro Martínez, Gregory Wurtz, Anatoly Zayats

Title: Unidirectional Excitation of Guided Light using a Circularly Polarized 


3rd prize sponsored by Imperial College Press (1 book)

Authors: Theodosios Karamanos, Stylianos Assimonis, Alexandros Dimitriadis, Nikolaos Kantartzis

Title: First-Principles Parameter Retrieval of Complex Single-Negative Bulk Metamaterials



Best poster award sponsored by the Journal of Optics (IOP Publishing)


Authors: Oleksandr Zhuromskyy, Ulf Peschel

Title: T-matrix Analysis of Dipole Waves on Chains of Dielectric Particles 


Best student poster award sponsored by the European Physical Society


Authors: Evgeniya Ovchinnikova, Susanne Butz, Philipp Jung, Valeriy Koshelets, Lyudmila Filippenko, Alexander Averkin, Sergey Shitov, Alexey Ustinov

Title: Design and Experimental Study of Superconducting Left-Handed Transmission Lines with Tunable Dispersion



Best student poster award sponsored by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET)


1st prize (voucher of 100 Pounds)

Authors: Mehdi Keshavarz Hedayati, Mady Elbahri 

Title: Perfect Plasmonic Absorber for Visible Frequency


2nd prize (voucher of 75 Pounds)

Authors: María Roig, Matthias Maasch, Christian Damm, Rolf Jakoby

Title: Steerable Ka-Band Leaky Wave Antenna based on Liquid Crystal Material 


3rd prize (voucher of 50 Pounds)

Authors: Davide Ramaccia, Maria Claudia Guattari, Filiberto Bilotti, Alessandro Toscano

Title: Metamaterial Split-Ring Resonators for Retrieval of Soil Electromagnetic Properties

Supported by
CST - Computer Simulation Technology
IOP Publishing
CRC Press
Journal of optics
American Elements
Nature Photonics
Imperial college press