Plenary speakers

Prof. Martin Wegener

"Metamaterials Beyond Electromagnetism"

Brief Biography

After completing his PhD in physics in 1987 at Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universität Frankfurt (Germany), he spent two years as a postdoc at AT&T Bell Laboratories in Holmdel (U.S.A.). From 1990-1995 he was C3-Professor at Universität Dortmund (Germany), since 1995 he is professor at Institute of Applied Physics at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). Since 2001 he has a joint appointment as department head at Institute of Nanotechnology of KIT. Since 2001 he is also the coordinator of the DFG-Center for Functional Nanostructures (CFN) in Karlsruhe. His research interests comprise ultrafast optics, (extreme) nonlinear optics, near-field optics, plasmonics, photonic crystals, (photonic) metamaterials, and transformation physics. This research has led to various awards and honors, among which are the Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach Research Award 1993, the Baden-Württemberg Teaching Award 1998, the DFG Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Award 2000, the European Union René Descartes Prize 2005, the Baden-Württemberg Research Award 2005, and the Carl Zeiss Research Award 2006. He is a member of Leopoldina, the German Academy of Sciences (since 2006), Fellow of the Optical Society of America (since 2008), Fellow of the Hector Foundation (since 2008), and Adjunct Professor at the Optical Sciences Center, Tucson, U.S.A. (since 2009).


Prof. David R. Smith

Brief Biography

Dr. David R. Smith is currently the William Bevan Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at Duke University and Director of the Center for Metamaterial and Integrated Plasmonics. He also holds the positions of Adjunct Associate Professor in the Physics Department at the University of California, San Diego, and Visiting Professor of Physics at Imperial College, London. Dr. Smith received his Ph.D. in 1994 in Physics from the University of California, San Diego (UCSD). Dr. Smith's research interests include the theory, simulation and characterization of unique electromagnetic structures, including photonic crystals and metamaterials.
Smith and his colleagues at UCSD demonstrated the first left-handed (or negative index) metamaterial at microwave frequencies in 2000. In 2001, Smith and colleagues followed up with a second experiment confirming one of Veselago's key conjectures: the 'reversal' of Snell's law. These two papers--the first published in Physical Review Letters and the second in Science--generated enormous interest throughout the community in the possibility of metamaterials to extend and augment the properties of conventional materials. Both papers have now been cited nearly 3,000 times each. Smith has more than 200 publications on metamaterials and plasmonics, and was selected by ISI-Reuters as a “Citation Laureate” in 2009 for the most number of “highly cited” papers in the field of Physics over the past decade. Smith’s first paper on negative index has been selected as one of four “PRL Milestones” for 2000 by the editors of Physical Review Letters (2008).
In 2002, Smith was elected a member of The Electromagnetics Academy. In 2005, Smith was part of a five member team that received the Descartes Research Prize, awarded by the European Union, for their contributions to metamaterials and other novel electromagnetic materials. Smith also received in 2005 the Stansell Research Award from the Pratt School of Engineering at Duke University. In 2006, Dr. Smith was selected as one of the "Scientific American 50," a group recognized by the editors of Scientific American for achievements in science, technology and policy. Dr. Smith's work has twice appeared on the cover of Physics Today, and twice been selected as one of the "Top Ten Breakthroughs" of the year by Science Magazine. In 2012, it was announced that Smith is a co-recipient of the James C. McGroddy Prize for New Materials, awarded by the American Physical Society.


Shanhui Fan

"Photonic structures: advanced thermal control, and effective gauge potential for light"

Brief Biography

Shanhui Fan is a Professor of Electrical Engineering at the Stanford University. He received his Ph. D in 1997 in theoretical condensed matter physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), and was a research scientist at the Research Laboratory of Electronics at MIT prior to his appointment at Stanford. His research interests are in computational and theoretical studies of solid state and photonic structures and devices, especially photonic crystals, plasmonics, and meta-materials. He has published over 260 refereed journal articles that were cited over 16,000 times, has given over 200 invited talks, and was granted 44 US patents. Prof. Fan received a National Science Foundation Career Award (2002), a David and Lucile Packard Fellowship in Science and Engineering (2003), the National Academy of Sciences Award for Initiative in Research (2007), and the Adolph Lomb Medal from the Optical Society of America (2007). He is a Fellow of the IEEE, the American Physical Society, the Optical Society of America, and the SPIE.


Supported by
CST - Computer Simulation Technology
IOP Publishing
CRC Press
Journal of optics
American Elements
Nature Photonics
Imperial college press